Youtube Subscibe Button

Monday, December 8, 2008

Abdominopelvic Quadrants and Regions - Lesson 5

Abdominopelvic quadrants and regions are divided into 9 regions as per the division of the abdominal and pelvic cavities to explain the regions in which internal organs are found. They are as follows: Hypochondriac, epigastric, lumbar, umbilical, inguinal, and hypogastric.

Now we will see about all abdominopelvic quadrants and regions one by one now.

1. Hypochondriac regions (2): The two upper right and left regions below the cartilage (chondr/o) of the ribs that extend over the abdomen.

2. Epigastric regions (2): This is the region above the stomach.

3. Lumbar regions (2): The two right and left regions near the waist part of the body.

4. Umbilical regions (1): The region of the umbilicus or navel portion of the body.

5. Inguinal regions (2): The two lower right and left regions of the body, inguin/o means groin that is the area where the two legs join together with the trunk of the body. This region is also called iliac regions because they are near the ilium part of the body. These regions are the upper portion of the hip bone on each side of the body.

6. Hypogastric region (1): Lower middle region below the umbilical region.


Post a Comment

The Longest Medical Word

Today, we will know about an interesting medical term in medical language. This post is just to know about a different thing in the medica...