Youtube Subscibe Button

Sunday, July 11, 2010

The Vertebral Column - LESSON 211

There are totally 26 bone segments compose the vertebral column or spinal column.  We can arrange these 26 bones of the vertebral column in to five divisions, such as
1.  Cervical (7)
2.  Thoracic (12)
3.  Lumbar (5)
4.  Sacral (1)
5.  Coccygeal (1)

Now we will see about these one by one now.  Okay.

1. Cervical (cervix) Vertebral Bones:  These are the first set of bones in the spinal column of 26 bones.  Cervical spine bones are 7 in number.  They are called as C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, C6, and C7. 

2.  Thoracic (thorax) Vertebral Bones:  This bone segment is the second set of the vertebral column.  Thoracic bones are 12 in number.  They are known to be T1, T2, T3, T4, T5, T6, T7, T8, T9, T10, T11, and T12.  These 12 bones attach with 12 pairs of rib bones on both sides.

3.  Lumbar (lumbar) Vertebral Bones:  These bones are 5 in number.  Lumbar bones are the third set of vertebral bones.  These bones are large in structure comparing other sets of bones and stronger than other vertebral bones.  They are called as L1, L2, L3, L4, and L5.

4.  Sacral (sacrum) Vertebral Bones:  This set is four in the vertebral bones.  This bone is 1 in number.  Actually sacral bones are five in number, but they are fused together and looks like one bone.  Sacral bones are separated when one child born, but in the lateral years these five bones got fused into one another and resemble like they are one number.

5.  Coccygeal (coccyx) Vertebral Bone or Tailbone:  This is the final fifth set of the vertebra column.  This bone is 1 in number.   These bones are actually four in number when a child born, but in the later years they fuse to become one bone in structure similar to the sacral bones.  The name of this bone is coccyx bone or tailbone.

Other vertebral bone structures related to the vertebral bones:

1.  Vertebral Body:  Each vertebral bone or vertebra consists of a disk-like region in the inner part.  This is thick in structure and called as vertebral body.

2.  Cartilaginous Disks:  Between each two vertebral bones there is a shock-absorber like or a cushion-like structure called a disk or disc.  These cartilaginous disks give support and elasticity to the vertebral bones when we are in movement.

3.  Vertebral Arch:  In the posterior part of each vertebral bone, there is an arch-like structure that consists of lamina, transverse process, and spinous process.

4.  Neural canal:  This is a space between the vertebral arch and vertebral bodies.  Spinal cord containing nerves from the brain to the lower organs and systems pass though this neural canal only.

This concludes vertebral body anatomy.  In the next lesson, we will learn about Thorax and Pelvis bones.  Okay.

Come on.

To go to the next lesson from here please click the link below.

To go to the prior lesson from here please click the link below.

Home Page: 

The Longest Medical Word

Today, we will know about an interesting medical term in medical language. This post is just to know about a different thing in the medica...